Monday, January 13, 2020

Marijuana and Employment

Illinois law prohibits employers from discriminating against employees based on their use of legal substances when they’re off work. Though the recent amendment was meant to clarify that employers may still discipline employees for failing a drug test, in line with a reasonable drug testing policy.
One problem is drug tests can detect whether someone has used marijuana but not when or whether the person is impaired. The tension is if an employer decides to withdraw an offer of employment or terminate someone based solely on a positive marijuana test, without any additional signs of impairment, I think that leaves room for a question about whether they’re taking action based on someone’s lawful use of marijuana while they’re (off) duty.

According to the law, an employer may consider a worker to be impaired or under the influence of cannabis if the employer has a “good faith belief” the employee is displaying symptoms that are hurting job performance, such as those affecting speech, agility or demeanor. #legalmarijuana, #legalcannabis, 

Thursday, January 2, 2020

New Illinois 2020 Traffic Laws

New Laws 2020: Illinois laws that take effect January 1.
Drivers in Illinois will no longer be able to watch streaming video while driving.Starting Jan. 1, 2020, you'll pay more for reckless driving. The maximum penalty for hitting a construction worker increases to $25,000. The fine for illegally passing a school bus doubles on January 1. Drivers who violate Scott's Law may be fined up to $10,000. #trafficlaws, #newtrafficlaws,

Thursday, December 12, 2019

Marijuana Expungement

Beginning Jan. 1, 2020, adults over the age of 21 will be able to legally purchase cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries. Part of the new law is a provision to automatically expunge cannabis possession arrests that didn’t lead to a conviction for amounts up to 30 grams (excluding offenses connected to a violent crime).This pertains to hundreds of thousands of Illinois residents, with many others impacted by a provision through which the governor will grant pardons authorizing expungement for convictions for up to 30 grams. If you were convicted of larger amounts, up to 500 grams, you’ll have to file a motion to vacate your record. #marijuanaexpungement, #cannabisexpungement,

Monday, December 2, 2019

Tollway Violations/Evasions

A Failure to Pay Fines stop is not a suspension of your driver's license and/or driving privileges and does not require a reinstatement fee. ... Tollway Violations/Evasions – A person's driver's license may be suspended for failure to satisfy fines or penalties for five or more toll violations or evasions. #tollevasion,

Friday, November 22, 2019

Scott's Law

Scott's law requires drivers to slow down and move over one lane, if possible, when approaching a stopped emergency vehicle, or any vehicle with flashing lights. ... Scott's Law was named after Lt. Scott Gillen of the Chicago Fire Dept., who was struck and killed by an intoxicated driver while assisting at a crash scene. #Scott'slaw,

Monday, November 18, 2019

Abortion right to chose.




Illinois has a new sweeping  access protection law. It underscores a fundamental right for a woman's right to choose. The bill's signage comes as part of a wave of Democratic states opting to codify abortion protections as a slew of Republican states push forward bills restricting abortion access. Lawmakers have pushed such restrictions in an effort to force a potential legal challenge of the landmark Supreme Court Roe V. Wade decision that legalized abortion nationwide in 1973.The Illinois bill, protects an individual's "fundamental right to make autonomous decisions about one's own reproductive health," including a decision to continue a "pregnancy and give birth or to have an abortion." #Illinoisabortion, #right to chose, 



Sunday, November 10, 2019

Schaumburg Divorce Lawyer

In Illinois, divorced and never-married parents may have an obligation to contribute to post-high school expenses for their children once they emancipate, or “age out” of being a minor child under the law.  This typically happens when the child turns 18 or graduates from high school, whichever happens last. At that point, many children will go on to attend college, trade schools, and various other types of career training.  Section 513(a) of the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act is the relevant statute on this issue, and it provides that the court may award sums of money out of the property and income of either or both parties or the estate of a deceased parent, as equity may require, for the educational expenses of any child of the parties. #schaumburgdivorcelawyer, #educationalexpensesdivorcedparents,